Skip to content

Blackboard Bistro

04/08/2011

Savory

One word to describe the food at Blackboard Bistro, as they so fittingly put on their blackboard menu, savory.

Recommended by the boyfriend’s co-worker, we decided to try out this Contemporary American restaurant on California Avenue in West Seattle for lunch. We honestly went in here not knowing what to expect. I hadn’t even Yelped it ahead of time! I think we both agreed that it was a pleasant surprise.

I think it’s the first time in awhile I actually slowed down to taste and enjoy the food, because there was so much flavor to experience. I actually found myself trying to dissect all the ingredients that were used in the dishes.

They immediately won us over with their dip made of pumpkin seeds, browned butter, and oregano served with bread. Drools… talk about having cravings!

From their seasonally changing menu, hence the concept of a dynamic blackboard menu, Troy ordered the beer battered oyster sliders with tartare sauce and french fries. I chose lamb meatballs with couscous and dried kale. Both absolutely delicious!

Chef Jacob personally visited our table after our meal to see how everything was, which made the experience feel very personal and that much more enjoyable. For anyone living in the Seattle area or for anyone with upcoming visits to our rainy city, I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

BONUS: Blackboard will be participating in Seattle Restaurant Week!

BONUS x2: I came across this when I was purchasing my LivingSocial deal for a cooking class through Dish It Up, Chef Jacob will be teaching a class on 4/25/2011 at the Magnolia location.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

