Skip to content

Surprise Birthday Celebration

01/15/2011

Friday was my day of indulging in good food, good drinks, enjoyed in good company; I’m living the high life!

Brown Bag Cafe

Troy (the boyfriend) and I started our day off from work together with brunch from Brown Bag Cafe in Kirkland, Washington. This place is less than 5 minutes from my house but I’d forgotten about their big portioned breakfast menu.

I ordered the “Big Mike” for a hearty traditional breakfast:

– A short stack of buttermilk pancakes (a whole plate size!)
– two large eggs
– four link sausages
– signature hashbrowns (filled 1/2 a plate)

Hmm..I was trying to respect their policy on “no cell phones” according to their menu below, but should’ve grabbed a picture, next time!

Chateau Ste. Michelle

We followed our brunch with a theme tasting at the beautiful Chateau Ste. Michelle winery in Woodinville, WA. Wine tasting was something new for both of us but it may have opened up a world of new experiences. We both chose 4 samples out of the 8 current selections they had, both red and white, and received friendly tips and pointers.

We learned:

– to smell the aroma of the wine, take short bursts of sniffs with your mouth open
– use small movements to swirl and aerate the wine properly
– hold the glass by the stem to prevent fingerprints on the glass for observing the color of the wine and also to prevent warming the wine with the temperature from your hand

Probably basic stuff to most, but the sommelier was overjoyed in being able to give us these pointers and even offered a tasting of their best Merlot, on the house, for us newbies.

Them Tasting at Chateau Ste. Michelle

On the way out, we picked up a bottle of their ’05 Horse Heaven Hills Chenin Blanc, a very rich and deliciously sweet dessert wine of “floral character with aromas of ripe honeydew, Gala apples and a hint of clove spice”. We also ran into one of their resident peacocks and had to get some pictures in for this amazing photo op.

Peacock of Chateau Ste. Michelle

My Surprise Birthday Dinner

The big surprise!! Troy and my friends got me good with a surprise birthday dinner for me at Haenam Kalbi & Calamari in Shoreline, WA. A bigger surprise considering my birthday isn’t until the 31st of this month. With everyone’s busy schedules these days, I was so thankful and happy that everyone came out to celebrate my 27th birthday with me. A big loving thank you to Troy for putting it together and keeping it a secret! Yes, I am one lucky girl.. :)

I’d never been to this restaurant and I’m a pretty harsh critic when it comes to Korean food since my mom is the best Korean cook I know. It could’ve been my overwhelming happiness to see all my friends and/or my still-surprised-state, but the dishes I tried were really delicious. My favorite was a sampling of the ‘Calamari with Spicy Hot Sauce’ dish with the clear noodles.

The big feast was followed by homemade desserts of Panna Cotta (topped with berries) from my friends Tammy and Joanne. I loved it! It was just the perfect amount of sweet and fruity! Must get the recipe…

Haenam Dinner IHaenam Dinner II

Haenam Dinner IIIHaenam Dinner IV

“The Room” Birthday Cake

If anyone has seen “The Room“, often quoted as “the Citizen Kane of bad movies”, you will get a great laugh out of my birthday cake. If only I could’ve seen the face of the person that took the cake order at Remo Borracchini’s Bakery when shown a sketch of what to put on the cake… a red rose, box of chocolates, a red dress, and a purposely mis-spelled quotation from the movie, “Anytheeng for mai prinzess”. The bakery was able to decorate it with the rose and quotation, but Troy picked up red icing to finish the rest!

This red velvet cake w/cream cheese frosting was funny and decadent!

The Room Birthday Cake

One Comment leave one →
  1. tammy permalink
    01/15/2011 9:36 pm

    happy birthday! =)

Leave a Reply

