Skip to content

Welcome, it’s my very 1st post!

01/11/2011
SmileFelt Square Logo

Happy 1-11-11 (and a special HBD to my BFF TK) !

Welcome to SmileFelt, where I’ll be sharing my obsessions in design, crafts, bento, and other inspirations that undeniably put a smile on my face and hopefully yours too!

Be warned, I’m in no way, shape, or form, a great writer. My blog will consist of many photographs, diagrams, colors, illustrations, and every other visual aid I can use to share my passions and hobbies with the world. However, as my first blog entry, I figure a quick introduction is in order so bear with me!

My first and foremost passion is art and design. I love all things architecture, interior design, industrial design, visual communication design, fine arts, photography, and although I’m not a fashionista of any degree, even some fashion design.

I hold a bachelors degree in Interior Design, but have now had a 2+ years career in the finance world.  During this time, my passion has grown to include other hobbies that fill my desire of creativity outside of my 8-5 work hours.

One of the first new hobbies I picked up was craft with felt. It stemmed from a book called, “The Cute Book” by Aranzi Aronzo which was the first gift I ever received from my boyfriend, Troy. After following the templates for a few of the figures from the book, I created a felt version of my boyfriend. It was referred to as a voodoo doll by some of our friends because of its resemblance, but creepy or not, it definitely sparked my craving to continue creating more craft items.

Felt Troy

The second hobby I picked up was papercrafts, mainly creating handmade greeting cards. I’d made some handmade cards before, but it wasn’t until my girlfriends and I had a couple Christmas ‘card making’ nights that I’d realized just how creative and personal these cards could be. A few months after, I was creating wedding invitation samples for one of my friend’s weddings.

Wedding Invitation Samples

The third hobby I picked up was baking, which started off as a way to spend more quality time with one of my good friends and it has evolved into another passion of mine. It’s a delicious way to be creative and give personalized gifts that can be eaten! It’s also still one of my favorite things to do with my friend, Tammy, we make such a good team!

vday cupcake & cookie

Lastly, the hobby that has engulfed me in the most unexpected way is my obsession of Bento! I stumbled upon www.justbento.com as I was looking for ways to pack and eat healthier lunches at work. I’d been familiar with the concept of bento as I recall my mom packing me lunches (called do-shi-rak in Korean) in elementary school when we lived in Korea, but I’d never thought it was something that I could take to work as an adult. I was inspired to pick up my first bento box and few accessories from a local Daiso and began packing my lunches to work rather than going out for fast food or skipping lunch altogether. I wasn’t too confident in my cooking skills but by using leftovers and simple recipes, it became really enjoyable to prepare and even more so to eat. I shared some of these bento lunches on an album on my Facebook account to share with my friends and the responses I got were so positive that I was encouraged to put them in a blog, so here we are!

Facebook Album Bento ^^

All in all, I’m really excited to be sharing all of my daily obsessions with the world. A few of the exciting things that I have planned for SmileFelt to be on the lookout for:

–          Colorful illustrations and photos of bento lunches coming soon to ‘SmileFelt Bento’ page

–         Handmade cards, bento accessories, felt dolls, etc coming soon to ‘SmileFelt Crafts’ page

(w/ a link to my etsy account)

–          The best of 2010 bento lunches

–          The best of 2010 craft projects

–          Holiday specials – tutorials on bento, baked goods, crafts, and more!

–          Mini Baked Goods to fit inside your bento box

–          And many more!

Thank you for visiting and hope to see you back here soon!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/11/2011 10:22 am

    Though first…But its cool.

    Nice post,keep blogging!

  2. Bear permalink
    01/11/2011 10:49 am

    <3 the first post…can't wait to see how big u become!

  3. syl permalink
    01/11/2011 2:58 pm

    can’t wait to see more! ;)

  4. Chelley permalink
    01/11/2011 5:11 pm

    Awesome possom ^_^ so artistic Hye Min Na~!

  5. 01/11/2011 9:09 pm

    Im hungry now can’t wait for more posts!

  6. tammy permalink
    01/11/2011 10:24 pm

    yay! so awesome!!

  7. HYEJIN permalink
    01/14/2011 6:02 pm

    awesome!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

